On the official page for the new anime adaptation of the franchise Higurashi no Naku Koro ni It has been confirmed that the title of this new series is Higurashi no Naku Koro ni - Gou and the distribution information for the Blu-ray / DVD volumes was revealed. This information confirmed that this series will have 24 episodes.

  • Volume 1 (episodes 1 to 4) February 24, 2021.
  • Volume 2 (episodes 5 to 8): March 24, 2021.
  • Volume 3 (episodes 9-13): April 28, 2021.
  • Volume 4 (episodes 14-17): May 26, 2021.
  • Volume 5 (Episodes 18-24) June 30, 2021.

On the other hand, this new series premiered on October 1 and continued with a second arc covering episodes 14 through 24 on January 7, 2021. The statement also revealed the musical themes of the project:

  • Asaka plays the opening song entitled "I Believe What You Said" which is due to be released in Japan on October 14th.
  • Ayane plays the final song entitled "Kamisama no Syndrome", due to be released in Japan on November 4th.

Finally, a third promotional video of this project was also posted on the official website of this new adaptation.


  • Souichiro Hoshi as Keiichi Maebara.
  • Mai Nakahara as Rena Ryuugu.
  • Satsuki Yukino as Mion Sonozaki.
  • Mika Kanai as Satoko Houjou.
  • Yukari Tamura as Rika Furuda.
  • Chafurin as Kuraudo Ooishi.
  • Toru Ohkawa as Jirou Tomitake.
  • Miki Itou as Miyo Takano.
  • Toshihiko seki as Kyousuke Irie.

Production team

  • Ryukishi07 Y. 07. Extension The original idea is credited.
  • Akio Watanabe ((Monogatari series) is responsible for the character design.
  • The studies Passione ((Citrus fruits, Rokka no Yuusha, High School DxD Hero) are responsible for the animation of the project.
  • Naoki Hayashi ((Black fox, Citrus fruits) is responsible for writing and monitoring the scripts.
  • Kenji Kawai ((Ghost in the shell, Mobile suit Gundam 00) returns to compose the series' soundtrack.

Synopsis of Higurashi no Naku Koro ni

On a warm summer day in 1983, transfer student Maebara Keiichi arrived in a peaceful rural town in Hinamizawa. There he befriends his classmates Rena, Mion, Rika and Satoko. Keiichi and the gang, who are recognized as official members of the "Club", practice various activities such as card and board games and hide and seek.

But just as Keiichi was getting used to life in the countryside, he came across the dark story behind Hinamizawa. When Keiichi reveals this dark secret, he discovers that his new friends may not be what they appear to be.

Source: official page

© 2020 階士 階士 07 / ひ ぐ ら し の な く く 頃 に 補䜜 委員䌚


About the Author

Sweety Otaku

One of the best parts of watching anime is how many times a show can surprise you. Sometimes for good, sometimes for bad. But if the Otaku know one thing, it's that anything is possible.

View All Articles